Swede's Bay — Minnesota lake report
Le Sueur County · DOW 40009203
Swede's Bay in Le Sueur County, Minnesota (DOW 40009203). Monitored Secchi clarity: 2.2 ft in 2025. Latest published lake survey: 2002-08-07.
Report content last changed .
Identity and lake map
- geography — area acres
- 507.02 acre
- geography — basin role
- bay
- geography — border status
- within_minnesota
- geography — coordinates
- {"latitude":44.2608,"longitude":-93.773745}
- geography — lake type
- Recreational Development
- geography — littoral acres
- No published value acre
- geography — max depth ft
- 6 foot
- geography — mean depth ft
- 2.4 foot
- geography — shoreline miles
- No published value mile
- identity — county
- Le Sueur
- identity — dow
- 40009203
- identity — name
- Swede's Bay
Lake shape and related waters
This detail is not requested until you use the control below.
Open interactive outline
This detail is not requested until you use the control below.
Latest published observations
Dated observations and regulatory status are kept distinct.
- assessment — cycle
- 2024publication date:
- assessment — lake status
- impairedpublication date:
- ice — latest in
- 2021-12-09observation date:
- ice — latest out
- 2025-03-23observation date:
- water quality — monitored clarity ft
- 2.2 foot
- water quality — monitored clarity year
- 2025
Water-quality assessment detail
This detail is not requested until you use the control below.
Water level
The selected observation names its datum and series; incompatible datums are never combined.
No applicable published fact.
Ice-in and ice-out
Ice-in, ice-out, incomplete seasons, programs, and qualifying trends remain separate.
- ice — latest by program
- [{"latestIceInDate":"2021-12-09","latestIceOutDate":"2025-03-23","latestMatchedDurationDays":117,"latestMatchedSeasonStartYear":2021,"programId":"MNPCA","programLabel":"Minnesota Pollution Control Agency"}]
- ice — out trend days per decade
- No published value days/decade
Ice history
This detail is not requested until you use the control below.
Water clarity and observed water quality
Observed monitoring and modeled satellite estimates are separate evidence surfaces.
- water quality — clarity trend
- stable
- water quality — observed latest secchi ft
- 2.2 foot
- water quality — observed latest year
- 2025
- water quality — observed sampling through
- 2025-11-14observation date:
- water quality — satellite clarity
- 0.68 meter
- water quality — satellite latest year
- 2025
Observed measurements
This detail is not requested until you use the control below.
Satellite modeled estimates
This detail is not requested until you use the control below.
Fish survey and abundance
- fisheries — latest lake survey date
- 2002-08-07observation date:
- fisheries — species count
- No published value
- fisheries — survey count
- 1
Stocking history
- fisheries — stocking latest year
- 2019
- fisheries — stocking recent cutoff year
- 2017
- fisheries — stocking recent events by species
- {"Northern Pike":1,"Walleye":2}
- fisheries — stocking recent statement
- 3 recorded stocking events since 2017. Source records currently extend through 2019.generation date:
- fisheries — stocking source through year
- 2019
- fisheries — stocking total events
- 17
Stocking History
This detail is not requested until you use the control below.
Official AIS listing
This is regulatory listing status, not occurrence evidence.
- ais — current extent scopes
- []
- ais — current listing count
- 0
- ais — current species
- []
- ais — official status
- Not listed
Official Ais Listings
This detail is not requested until you use the control below.
AIS occurrence evidence
Occurrence evidence cannot create or change an official infestation listing.
- ais — latest occurrence date
- 2015-07-02observation date:
- ais — occurrence count
- 2
- ais — occurrence species
- []
Ais Occurrence Evidence
This detail is not requested until you use the control below.
Public access and depth contours
- access — status
- Public access unknown
- access — types
- []
- bathymetry — available
- Yes
Depth Contours
This detail is not requested until you use the control below.
Public-land and road context
Ownership, management, easements, designations, and included mapped roads remain separate context facts.
- public land — designation nearest meters
- No published value meter
- public land — designation shoreline adjacent percent
- 0 percent
- public land — easement nearest meters
- No published value meter
- public land — easement shoreline adjacent percent
- 0 percent
- public land — management nearest meters
- 1471.6306413407744 meter
- public land — management shoreline adjacent percent
- 0 percent
- public land — other interest nearest meters
- 0 meter
- public land — other interest shoreline adjacent percent
- 100 percent
- public land — ownership nearest meters
- 0 meter
- public land — ownership shoreline adjacent percent
- 0 percent
- roads — density km per sq km
- 1.1504 km/km2
- roads — eligible buffer area square meters
- 11803200 square meter
- roads — included length meters
- 13578.76 meter
- roads — nearest included meters
- 39.08 meter
- roads — nearest major meters
- 5321.66 meter
- roads — united states coverage complete
- Yes
Public-Land Detail
This detail is not requested until you use the control below.
Road Detail
This detail is not requested until you use the control below.
Sources, dates, methods, and corrections
| Source | Release and dates | Evidence | Method |
|---|---|---|---|
| Minnesota DNR List of Infested Waters | official ais. Release: 2026-05-13; publication: 2026-05-13; retrieved: 2026-07-21. | regulatory | lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0 |
| Minnesota DNR AIS Observations | ais occurrence. Release: ArcGIS item caf847f24e0548d486ad744b488188c9 modified 2026-07-28; publication: not stated; retrieved: 2026-07-29. | observed | lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0 |
| MPCA 2024 Integrated Report assessed and impaired waters | assessment. Release: 2024 final approved cycle; publication: 2024-04-25; retrieved: 2026-07-22. | regulatory | lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0 |
| Bathymetry | bathymetry. Release: not stated; publication: not stated; retrieved: not stated. | not stated | not stated |
| Minnesota DNR/MPCA lake ice-in and ice-out archive | latest and history. Release: snapshot-2026-07-21; publication: not stated; retrieved: 2026-07-21. | application_derived, observed | lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0 |
| Water Quality Portal (MPCA/STORET) | identity and membership. Release: snapshot-2026-07-16; publication: not stated; retrieved: 2026-07-16. | application_derived, geographic, management, observed | lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0 |
| Minnesota DNR PWI, DNR Hydrography, and Lake Basin Morphology | identity context. Release: not stated; publication: 2026-07-09; retrieved: 2026-07-21. | geographic | lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0 |
| Outlines | map preview. Release: not stated; publication: not stated; retrieved: not stated. | not stated | not stated |
| USGS Protected Areas Database of the United States 4.1 full inventory | context only. Release: 4.1; publication: not stated; retrieved: 2026-07-30. | application_derived, geographic | public_land.nearest_boundary_distance@1.0.0, public_land.shoreline_adjacency@1.0.0 |
| U.S. Census TIGERweb Transportation snapshot | context only. Release: 2025-01-01; publication: not stated; retrieved: 2026-07-31. | application_derived, geographic | road_context.eligible_buffer_lattice@1.0.0, road_context.included_length_within_one_kilometer@1.0.0, road_context.nearest_included_road_distance@1.0.0, road_context.nearest_major_road_distance@1.0.0, road_context.road_density@1.0.0, road_context.united_states_source_coverage@1.0.0 |
| Minnesota DNR fish stocking reports | stocking. Release: not stated; publication: not stated; retrieved: not stated. | management | lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0 |
| Water Quality Portal (MPCA/STORET) | monitored clarity and observed quality. Release: snapshot-2026-07-16; publication: not stated; retrieved: 2026-07-16. | observed | lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0 |
| University of Minnesota LakeBrowser | satellite quality. Release: 2m0i; publication: not stated; retrieved: not stated. | modeled | lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0 |
Provenance catalog: export_provenance.v1-ca646c5ba79e.json (SHA-256 ca646c5ba79eec8b835ffaae7a9c07b79ec2d768501961bb0393b3727489d5a2).