Frontenac — Minnesota lake report

Goodhue County · DOW 25000300

Frontenac in Goodhue County, Minnesota (DOW 25000300). Latest published water level: 688.65 ft on 2007-04-16. Latest published lake survey: 2015-04-02.

Report content last changed .

Identity and lake map

Bounded lake outline preview; not for navigation.
geography — area acres
79.41 acregeographic evidence · source: lake_summary_slim · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
geography — basin role
main_basingeographic evidence · source: morphology · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
geography — border status
within_minnesotageographic evidence · source: morphology · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
geography — coordinates
{"latitude":44.511371,"longitude":-92.344739}geographic evidence · source: lake_summary_slim · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
geography — lake type
Natural Environmentgeographic evidence · source: lake_summary_slim · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
geography — littoral acres
No published value acregeographic evidence · source: morphology · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
geography — max depth ft
8 footobserved evidence · source: lake_summary_slim
geography — mean depth ft
No published value footobserved evidence · source: lake_summary_slim
geography — shoreline miles
No published value milegeographic evidence · source: morphology · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
identity — county
Goodhueobserved evidence · source: lake_summary_slim
identity — dow
25000300observed evidence · source: lake_summary_slim
identity — name
Frontenacobserved evidence · source: lake_summary_slim
Lake shape and related waters

This detail is not requested until you use the control below.

Open interactive outline

This detail is not requested until you use the control below.

Latest published observations

Dated observations and regulatory status are kept distinct.

assessment — lake status
Unknownregulatory evidence · source: lake_summary_slim
water levels — latest date
2007-04-16observation date: observed evidence · source: water_levels
water levels — latest value
688.65 footobservation date: observed evidence · source: water_levels
water quality — monitored clarity ft
No published value footobserved evidence · source: lake_summary_slim
water quality — monitored clarity year
No published valueobserved evidence · source: lake_summary_slim

Water level

The selected observation names its datum and series; incompatible datums are never combined.

water levels — datum
NGVD 29observed evidence · source: water_levels
water levels — series id
25000300:datum:b99559e92bobserved evidence · source: water_levels
water levels — station identity
No published valueobserved evidence · source: water_levels
Water-level history

This detail is not requested until you use the control below.

Ice-in and ice-out

Ice-in, ice-out, incomplete seasons, programs, and qualifying trends remain separate.

No applicable published fact.

Water clarity and observed water quality

Observed monitoring and modeled satellite estimates are separate evidence surfaces.

water quality — clarity trend
No published valueapplication_derived evidence · source: lake_summary_slim · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
water quality — satellite clarity
1.94 metermodeled evidence · source: water_quality_satellite · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
water quality — satellite latest year
2025modeled evidence · source: water_quality_satellite · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
Satellite modeled estimates

This detail is not requested until you use the control below.

Fish survey and abundance

fisheries — abundance species evidence
{"BLC":{"comparisonType":"statewide_species_gear_percentile","cpue":30.2,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Abundant"},"BLG":{"comparisonType":"statewide_species_gear_percentile","cpue":3.2,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Present"},"BOF":{"comparisonType":"presence","cpue":null,"cpueUnit":null,"status":"Present"},"CAP":{"comparisonType":"statewide_species_gear_percentile","cpue":0.4,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Common"},"FRD":{"comparisonType":"statewide_species_gear_percentile","cpue":3,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Common"},"GIS":{"comparisonType":"statewide_species_gear_percentile","cpue":2,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Present"},"GOS":{"comparisonType":"statewide_species_gear_percentile","cpue":1,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Common"},"GSF":{"comparisonType":"statewide_species_gear_percentile","cpue":0.2,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Common"},"HSF":{"comparisonType":"statewide_species_gear_percentile","cpue":0.2,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Present"},"LMB":{"comparisonType":"presence","cpue":null,"cpueUnit":null,"status":"Present"},"NOP":{"comparisonType":"statewide_species_gear_percentile","cpue":2,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Present"},"PMK":{"comparisonType":"presence","cpue":null,"cpueUnit":null,"status":"Present"},"QBS":{"comparisonType":"statewide_species_gear_percentile","cpue":8,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Abundant"},"RCS":{"comparisonType":"unclassified","cpue":0.4,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Present"},"SAB":{"comparisonType":"statewide_species_gear_percentile","cpue":4,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Abundant"},"WHC":{"comparisonType":"statewide_species_gear_percentile","cpue":62.2,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Abundant"},"WTS":{"comparisonType":"statewide_species_gear_percentile","cpue":17,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Abundant"},"YEB":{"comparisonType":"statewide_species_gear_percentile","cpue":2.2,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Common"},"YEP":{"comparisonType":"statewide_species_gear_percentile","cpue":6,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Common"}}observed evidence · source: fish
fisheries — latest lake survey date
2015-04-02observation date: observed evidence · source: lake_summary_slim
fisheries — selected abundance survey date
1981-06-10observation date: observed evidence · source: fish
fisheries — species count
11observed evidence · source: lake_summary_slim
fisheries — survey count
2observed evidence · source: lake_summary_slim
Fish Survey Detail

This detail is not requested until you use the control below.

Stocking history

No applicable published fact.

Official AIS listing

This is regulatory listing status, not occurrence evidence.

ais — official status
Not listedregulatory evidence · source: lake_summary_slim

AIS occurrence evidence

Occurrence evidence cannot create or change an official infestation listing.

ais — latest occurrence date
1981-06-18observation date: observed evidence · source: ais_occurrences
ais — occurrence count
1observed evidence · source: ais_occurrences
ais — occurrence species
[]observed evidence · source: ais_occurrences
Ais Occurrence Evidence

This detail is not requested until you use the control below.

Public access and depth contours

access — documented listing count
1management evidence · source: access · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
access — status
Public access documentedmanagement evidence · source: access · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
access — types
["O"]management evidence · source: lake_summary_slim · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
bathymetry — available
Nogeographic evidence · source: lake_summary_slim · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
Access Detail

This detail is not requested until you use the control below.

Public-land and road context

Ownership, management, easements, designations, and included mapped roads remain separate context facts.

public land — designation nearest meters
No published value metergeographic evidence · source: public_land_context · public_land.nearest_boundary_distance@1.0.0
public land — designation shoreline adjacent percent
0 percentapplication_derived evidence · source: public_land_context · public_land.shoreline_adjacency@1.0.0
public land — easement nearest meters
0 metergeographic evidence · source: public_land_context · public_land.nearest_boundary_distance@1.0.0
public land — easement shoreline adjacent percent
5.5 percentapplication_derived evidence · source: public_land_context · public_land.shoreline_adjacency@1.0.0
public land — management nearest meters
0 metergeographic evidence · source: public_land_context · public_land.nearest_boundary_distance@1.0.0
public land — management shoreline adjacent percent
53.2 percentapplication_derived evidence · source: public_land_context · public_land.shoreline_adjacency@1.0.0
public land — other interest nearest meters
No published value metergeographic evidence · source: public_land_context · public_land.nearest_boundary_distance@1.0.0
public land — other interest shoreline adjacent percent
0 percentapplication_derived evidence · source: public_land_context · public_land.shoreline_adjacency@1.0.0
public land — ownership nearest meters
0 metergeographic evidence · source: public_land_context · public_land.nearest_boundary_distance@1.0.0
public land — ownership shoreline adjacent percent
46 percentapplication_derived evidence · source: public_land_context · public_land.shoreline_adjacency@1.0.0
roads — density km per sq km
2.7259 km/km2application_derived evidence · source: road_context · road_context.road_density@1.0.0
roads — eligible buffer area square meters
8633600 square meterapplication_derived evidence · source: road_context · road_context.eligible_buffer_lattice@1.0.0
roads — included length meters
23534.29 meterapplication_derived evidence · source: road_context · road_context.included_length_within_one_kilometer@1.0.0
roads — nearest included meters
0 metergeographic evidence · source: road_context · road_context.nearest_included_road_distance@1.0.0
roads — nearest major meters
31.38 metergeographic evidence · source: road_context · road_context.nearest_major_road_distance@1.0.0
roads — united states coverage complete
Yesapplication_derived evidence · source: road_context · road_context.united_states_source_coverage@1.0.0
Public-Land Detail

This detail is not requested until you use the control below.

Road Detail

This detail is not requested until you use the control below.

Sources, dates, methods, and corrections

Sources used by this report
SourceRelease and datesEvidenceMethod
Minnesota DNR LakeFinder access listingsdocumented access. Release: not stated; publication: not stated; retrieved: not stated.managementlake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
Minnesota DNR AIS Observationsais occurrence. Release: ArcGIS item caf847f24e0548d486ad744b488188c9 modified 2026-07-28; publication: not stated; retrieved: 2026-07-29.observedlake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
Minnesota DNR LakeFinder fish survey catch summariesfish survey. Release: not stated; publication: not stated; retrieved: not stated.observedlake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
Water Quality Portal (MPCA/STORET)identity and membership. Release: snapshot-2026-07-16; publication: not stated; retrieved: 2026-07-16.application_derived, geographic, management, observed, regulatorylake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
Minnesota DNR PWI, DNR Hydrography, and Lake Basin Morphologyidentity context. Release: not stated; publication: 2026-07-09; retrieved: 2026-07-21.geographiclake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
Outlinesmap preview. Release: not stated; publication: not stated; retrieved: not stated.not statednot stated
USGS Protected Areas Database of the United States 4.1 full inventorycontext only. Release: 4.1; publication: not stated; retrieved: 2026-07-30.application_derived, geographicpublic_land.nearest_boundary_distance@1.0.0, public_land.shoreline_adjacency@1.0.0
U.S. Census TIGERweb Transportation snapshotcontext only. Release: 2025-01-01; publication: not stated; retrieved: 2026-07-31.application_derived, geographicroad_context.eligible_buffer_lattice@1.0.0, road_context.included_length_within_one_kilometer@1.0.0, road_context.nearest_included_road_distance@1.0.0, road_context.nearest_major_road_distance@1.0.0, road_context.road_density@1.0.0, road_context.united_states_source_coverage@1.0.0
Minnesota DNR Lake Level Minnesota / Lakes-DBlatest and history. Release: snapshot-2026-07-21; publication: not stated; retrieved: 2026-07-21.observedlake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
University of Minnesota LakeBrowsersatellite quality. Release: 2m0i; publication: not stated; retrieved: not stated.modeledlake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0

Provenance catalog: export_provenance.v1-ca646c5ba79e.json (SHA-256 ca646c5ba79eec8b835ffaae7a9c07b79ec2d768501961bb0393b3727489d5a2).

Methods · Report a correction for DOW 25000300