Steiger — Minnesota lake report

Carver County · DOW 10004500

Steiger in Carver County, Minnesota (DOW 10004500). Latest published water level: 944.14 ft on 1997-10-15. Monitored Secchi clarity: 5.4 ft in 2024.

Report content last changed .

Identity and lake map

Bounded lake outline preview; not for navigation.
geography — area acres
165.88 acregeographic evidence · source: lake_summary_slim · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
geography — basin role
main_basingeographic evidence · source: morphology · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
geography — border status
within_minnesotageographic evidence · source: morphology · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
geography — coordinates
{"latitude":44.866368,"longitude":-93.658857}geographic evidence · source: lake_summary_slim · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
geography — lake type
Recreational Developmentgeographic evidence · source: lake_summary_slim · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
geography — littoral acres
No published value acregeographic evidence · source: morphology · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
geography — max depth ft
37 footobserved evidence · source: lake_summary_slim
geography — mean depth ft
13 footobserved evidence · source: lake_summary_slim
geography — shoreline miles
No published value milegeographic evidence · source: morphology · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
identity — county
Carverobserved evidence · source: lake_summary_slim
identity — dow
10004500observed evidence · source: lake_summary_slim
identity — name
Steigerobserved evidence · source: lake_summary_slim
Lake shape and related waters

This detail is not requested until you use the control below.

Open interactive outline

This detail is not requested until you use the control below.

Latest published observations

Dated observations and regulatory status are kept distinct.

assessment — cycle
2024publication date: regulatory evidence · source: assessments
assessment — lake status
impairedpublication date: regulatory evidence · source: assessments
ice — latest in
2025-11-30observation date: observed evidence · source: ice_phenology
ice — latest out
2026-03-30observation date: observed evidence · source: ice_phenology
water levels — latest date
1997-10-15observation date: observed evidence · source: water_levels
water levels — latest value
944.14 footobservation date: observed evidence · source: water_levels
water quality — monitored clarity ft
5.4 footobserved evidence · source: lake_summary_slim
water quality — monitored clarity year
2024observed evidence · source: lake_summary_slim
Water-quality assessment detail

This detail is not requested until you use the control below.

Water level

The selected observation names its datum and series; incompatible datums are never combined.

water levels — datum
NGVD 29observed evidence · source: water_levels
water levels — series id
10004500:datum:b99559e92bobserved evidence · source: water_levels
water levels — station identity
No published valueobserved evidence · source: water_levels
Water-level history

This detail is not requested until you use the control below.

Ice-in and ice-out

Ice-in, ice-out, incomplete seasons, programs, and qualifying trends remain separate.

ice — latest by program
[{"latestIceInDate":"2011-12-02","latestIceOutDate":null,"latestMatchedDurationDays":null,"latestMatchedSeasonStartYear":null,"programId":"MNDNR","programLabel":"MNDNR"},{"latestIceInDate":"2025-11-30","latestIceOutDate":"2026-03-30","latestMatchedDurationDays":120,"latestMatchedSeasonStartYear":2025,"programId":"MNDNR-SCO","programLabel":"Minnesota DNR State Climatology Office"}]observed evidence · source: ice_phenology
ice — out trend days per decade
No published value days/decadeapplication_derived evidence · source: ice_phenology · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
Ice history

This detail is not requested until you use the control below.

Water clarity and observed water quality

Observed monitoring and modeled satellite estimates are separate evidence surfaces.

water quality — clarity trend
stableapplication_derived evidence · source: lake_summary_slim · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
water quality — observed latest secchi ft
5.4 footobserved evidence · source: water_quality
water quality — observed latest year
2024observed evidence · source: water_quality
water quality — observed sampling through
2024-10-01observation date: observed evidence · source: water_quality
water quality — satellite clarity
1.41 metermodeled evidence · source: water_quality_satellite · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
water quality — satellite latest year
2025modeled evidence · source: water_quality_satellite · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
Observed measurements

This detail is not requested until you use the control below.

Satellite modeled estimates

This detail is not requested until you use the control below.

Fish survey and abundance

fisheries — abundance species evidence
{"BLB":{"comparisonType":"source_provided_quartile","cpue":0.67,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Present"},"BLC":{"comparisonType":"source_provided_quartile","cpue":0.89,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Present"},"BLG":{"comparisonType":"source_provided_quartile","cpue":28.89,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Common"},"BOF":{"comparisonType":"source_provided_quartile","cpue":0.44,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Common"},"BRB":{"comparisonType":"presence","cpue":null,"cpueUnit":null,"status":"Present"},"CAP":{"comparisonType":"source_provided_quartile","cpue":0.11,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Present"},"GSF":{"comparisonType":"presence","cpue":null,"cpueUnit":null,"status":"Present"},"HSF":{"comparisonType":"statewide_species_gear_percentile","cpue":0.33,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Common"},"LMB":{"comparisonType":"source_provided_quartile","cpue":0.44,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Common"},"NOP":{"comparisonType":"source_provided_quartile","cpue":9.33,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Abundant"},"PMK":{"comparisonType":"source_provided_quartile","cpue":2.22,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Common"},"WTS":{"comparisonType":"source_provided_quartile","cpue":0.67,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Common"},"YEB":{"comparisonType":"source_provided_quartile","cpue":5.89,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Abundant"},"YEP":{"comparisonType":"source_provided_quartile","cpue":0.33,"cpueUnit":"fish/set","status":"Present"}}observed evidence · source: fish
fisheries — latest lake survey date
2024-08-05observation date: observed evidence · source: lake_summary_slim
fisheries — selected abundance survey date
2024-08-05observation date: observed evidence · source: fish
fisheries — species count
14observed evidence · source: lake_summary_slim
fisheries — survey count
10observed evidence · source: lake_summary_slim
Fish Survey Detail

This detail is not requested until you use the control below.

Stocking history

No applicable published fact.

Official AIS listing

This is regulatory listing status, not occurrence evidence.

ais — current extent scopes
["whole_waterbody"]regulatory evidence · source: ais
ais — current listing count
1regulatory evidence · source: ais
ais — current species
["Eurasian watermilfoil"]regulatory evidence · source: ais
ais — official status
Listedregulatory evidence · source: ais
Official Ais Listings

This detail is not requested until you use the control below.

AIS occurrence evidence

Occurrence evidence cannot create or change an official infestation listing.

ais — latest occurrence date
2025-08-20observation date: observed evidence · source: ais_occurrences
ais — occurrence count
11observed evidence · source: ais_occurrences
ais — occurrence species
[]observed evidence · source: ais_occurrences
Ais Occurrence Evidence

This detail is not requested until you use the control below.

Public access and depth contours

access — documented listing count
1management evidence · source: access · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
access — status
Public access documentedmanagement evidence · source: access · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
access — types
["GRAVEL"]management evidence · source: lake_summary_slim · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
bathymetry — available
Yesgeographic evidence · source: lake_summary_slim · lake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
Access Detail

This detail is not requested until you use the control below.

Depth Contours

This detail is not requested until you use the control below.

Public-land and road context

Ownership, management, easements, designations, and included mapped roads remain separate context facts.

public land — designation nearest meters
123.21946607487524 metergeographic evidence · source: public_land_context · public_land.nearest_boundary_distance@1.0.0
public land — designation shoreline adjacent percent
0 percentapplication_derived evidence · source: public_land_context · public_land.shoreline_adjacency@1.0.0
public land — easement nearest meters
630.2251891498219 metergeographic evidence · source: public_land_context · public_land.nearest_boundary_distance@1.0.0
public land — easement shoreline adjacent percent
0 percentapplication_derived evidence · source: public_land_context · public_land.shoreline_adjacency@1.0.0
public land — management nearest meters
No published value metergeographic evidence · source: public_land_context · public_land.nearest_boundary_distance@1.0.0
public land — management shoreline adjacent percent
0 percentapplication_derived evidence · source: public_land_context · public_land.shoreline_adjacency@1.0.0
public land — other interest nearest meters
0 metergeographic evidence · source: public_land_context · public_land.nearest_boundary_distance@1.0.0
public land — other interest shoreline adjacent percent
100 percentapplication_derived evidence · source: public_land_context · public_land.shoreline_adjacency@1.0.0
public land — ownership nearest meters
0 metergeographic evidence · source: public_land_context · public_land.nearest_boundary_distance@1.0.0
public land — ownership shoreline adjacent percent
100 percentapplication_derived evidence · source: public_land_context · public_land.shoreline_adjacency@1.0.0
roads — density km per sq km
4.6775 km/km2application_derived evidence · source: road_context · road_context.road_density@1.0.0
roads — eligible buffer area square meters
7328000 square meterapplication_derived evidence · source: road_context · road_context.eligible_buffer_lattice@1.0.0
roads — included length meters
34276.67 meterapplication_derived evidence · source: road_context · road_context.included_length_within_one_kilometer@1.0.0
roads — nearest included meters
30.63 metergeographic evidence · source: road_context · road_context.nearest_included_road_distance@1.0.0
roads — nearest major meters
168.87 metergeographic evidence · source: road_context · road_context.nearest_major_road_distance@1.0.0
roads — united states coverage complete
Yesapplication_derived evidence · source: road_context · road_context.united_states_source_coverage@1.0.0
Public-Land Detail

This detail is not requested until you use the control below.

Road Detail

This detail is not requested until you use the control below.

Sources, dates, methods, and corrections

Sources used by this report
SourceRelease and datesEvidenceMethod
Minnesota DNR LakeFinder access listingsdocumented access. Release: not stated; publication: not stated; retrieved: not stated.managementlake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
Minnesota DNR List of Infested Watersofficial ais. Release: 2026-05-13; publication: 2026-05-13; retrieved: 2026-07-21.regulatorylake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
Minnesota DNR AIS Observationsais occurrence. Release: ArcGIS item caf847f24e0548d486ad744b488188c9 modified 2026-07-28; publication: not stated; retrieved: 2026-07-29.observedlake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
MPCA 2024 Integrated Report assessed and impaired watersassessment. Release: 2024 final approved cycle; publication: 2024-04-25; retrieved: 2026-07-22.regulatorylake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
Bathymetrybathymetry. Release: not stated; publication: not stated; retrieved: not stated.not statednot stated
Minnesota DNR LakeFinder fish survey catch summariesfish survey. Release: not stated; publication: not stated; retrieved: not stated.observedlake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
Minnesota DNR/MPCA lake ice-in and ice-out archivelatest and history. Release: snapshot-2026-07-21; publication: not stated; retrieved: 2026-07-21.application_derived, observedlake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
Water Quality Portal (MPCA/STORET)identity and membership. Release: snapshot-2026-07-16; publication: not stated; retrieved: 2026-07-16.application_derived, geographic, management, observedlake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
Minnesota DNR PWI, DNR Hydrography, and Lake Basin Morphologyidentity context. Release: not stated; publication: 2026-07-09; retrieved: 2026-07-21.geographiclake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
Outlinesmap preview. Release: not stated; publication: not stated; retrieved: not stated.not statednot stated
USGS Protected Areas Database of the United States 4.1 full inventorycontext only. Release: 4.1; publication: not stated; retrieved: 2026-07-30.application_derived, geographicpublic_land.nearest_boundary_distance@1.0.0, public_land.shoreline_adjacency@1.0.0
U.S. Census TIGERweb Transportation snapshotcontext only. Release: 2025-01-01; publication: not stated; retrieved: 2026-07-31.application_derived, geographicroad_context.eligible_buffer_lattice@1.0.0, road_context.included_length_within_one_kilometer@1.0.0, road_context.nearest_included_road_distance@1.0.0, road_context.nearest_major_road_distance@1.0.0, road_context.road_density@1.0.0, road_context.united_states_source_coverage@1.0.0
Minnesota DNR Lake Level Minnesota / Lakes-DBlatest and history. Release: snapshot-2026-07-21; publication: not stated; retrieved: 2026-07-21.observedlake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
Water Quality Portal (MPCA/STORET)monitored clarity and observed quality. Release: snapshot-2026-07-16; publication: not stated; retrieved: 2026-07-16.observedlake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0
University of Minnesota LakeBrowsersatellite quality. Release: 2m0i; publication: not stated; retrieved: not stated.modeledlake_report.v1_projection@1.0.0

Provenance catalog: export_provenance.v1-ca646c5ba79e.json (SHA-256 ca646c5ba79eec8b835ffaae7a9c07b79ec2d768501961bb0393b3727489d5a2).

Methods · Report a correction for DOW 10004500